Winner announced for Westmeath Volunteers in Sport Award 2022

The Federation of Irish Sport has just confirmed the winners.

The Federation of Irish Sport has today announced the winners of the 2023 Volunteers in Sport Awards proudly supported by the National Network of 29 Local Sports Partnerships. The County Westmeath award for 2022 has been awarded to Déirdre Orme of Crookedwood GAA Club.

The Volunteers in Sport Awards celebrate the contributions of the band of volunteers across the country who give their time to Irish sport and physical activity every year. Minister of State with responsibility for Sport and Physical Education Thomas Byrne TD is the special guest speaker at the awards, which will take place next week on March 22nd at The Crowne Plaza Hotel, Blanchardstown and hosted by sports broadcaster Gráinne McElwain.

The event will see volunteers from all 32 counties honoured for their amazing dedication to volunteering across a variety of different sports. Guests will also include key stakeholders from the sector. The overall Outstanding Achievement Award will be revealed on the day. 


The winner of the award for Co. Westmeath is Déirdre Orme of Crookedwood GAA, who has been volunteering for more than a decade. Déirdre has spent her whole life involved with the club and when her playing days were cut short due to illness Déirdre continued to contribute to the sport she loved through committee and promotional roles.

Déirdre is a huge part of the community, helping with coaching and fundraising for various different events for the club. Déirdre helped with community work during Covid as well as a whole range of mental health initiatives.

Also a member of the Civil Defence, Déirdre has used her first aid training to assist with any teams that need it, never missing a game. It is her dedication and commitment to her club and county that has set her apart and Déirdre has become an inspiration for many.


Throughout December and January members of the public, sports clubs and governing bodies were invited by the Federation of Irish Sport in partnership with the National Network of 29 Local Sports Partnerships to nominate an individual whose contribution to sport and physical activity in Ireland has made a real difference to their community, club or county. Following a shortlisting process by the Selection Committee, the judging panel consisting of 9 individuals drawn from sports administration, academia, the volunteer community and media, and included former Director General of the GAA, Paraic Duffy, RTÉ broadcaster, Marie Crowe and Declan Jordan, Senior Lecturer in Economics at UCC.

Commenting on the awards, Minister of State for Sport and Physical Education, Thomas Byrne TD said:

“The volunteers being recognised today deserve enormous credit. Their work, often unseen and undertaken without any fuss or fanfare, makes sport a reality for hundreds if not thousands of people in their communities. In particular, the work of volunteers enables young people to play the sport that they love, to meet their friends and form lasting friendships. In so many ways, volunteers are the lifeblood of sport in this country and I am privileged to have this opportunity to publicly acknowledge their vital contribution to Irish sport.”

Speaking about the importance of the awards, CEO of the Federation of Irish Sport, Mary O’Connor said:

“In every county throughout the country, clubs and sporting organisations facilitate multi-generational opportunities for people to be involved in sport and physical activity. The work and goodwill of sport volunteers across the country cannot be taken for granted… Every week in Ireland more than 450,000 volunteers bring sport and physical activity to life for our communities and it’s time we afford their hard work the recognition it deserves. It is therefore important that we showcase the size and scale of this contribution by bringing such volunteers together today at the Volunteers in Sport Awards with attendees from every county in the country to shine a spotlight on the positive work they do for sport and physical activity.”

CEO Sport Ireland, Dr. Una May commented: “I would like to congratulate all the winners at the Volunteers in Sport Awards. Sport Ireland and its network of Local Sports Partnerships are delighted to recognise the invaluable contribution of volunteers to the promotion of sport and physical activity in Ireland. The LSPs collaborate with and depend on the remarkable dedication of volunteers to create opportunities for all members of the community to participate in sport and physical activity. This ensures a culture where sport and physical activity is inclusive and accessible to everyone, regardless of their background or abilities. We are grateful for the inspiring efforts of the volunteers being celebrated today, and all volunteers across the country, who help us achieve this.”

Head of Louth Sports Partnership, Graham Russell said:

”As the National Network of 29 Local Sports Partnerships, we are each individually committed to supporting volunteers in our local Clubs, sporting organisations and other non-sporting groups that assist in making opportunities available within their own communities for people to enjoy all forms of physical activity. We are privileged to see, first hand, the amazing work these people do, and we are all delighted to see these local volunteers getting recognition at National level.”


AntrimKatieSpeersRugbyBallymoney RFC
ArmaghSallyRaffertyCamogieSt Brenda’s Camogie Club
CarlowJohnJacobMartial ArtsCarlow Muay Thai
CavanBreda  GalliganCamogieCastletara Camogie Club
ClarePaulMcGibneyBasketballKilrush Basketball Club
CorkColletteRiordanAthleticsWest Muskerry AC
Derry MickyFlemingBoxingChurchlands Golden gloves
DonegalMartin ShankeySmithGAANaomh Conall GAA
DownMickeyRedmondGAASaval GAC
Dublin CityJoeDavittGAARanelagh Gaels
Dublin – Dún Laoghaire-RathdownClaraClarkCyclingCycling without Age
Dublin FingalCiaraMcCluskeyRunningDublin Sanctuary Runners
Dublin – South Dublin Co. Council  TonyHickeySwimFortunestown Swim Club
FermanaghChloeHamiltonPaddlesportsErne Paddlers
GalwayCatherineMooreHockeyGreenfields Hockey Club
KerryJeanCourtneyAthleticsKillarney Valley AC
KildareEddieHennesseySoccerClonmullion FC
KilkennyCarmelO’NeillBoxingPaulstown Boxing Club
LaoisMarieThompsonHockeyAbbeyleix Hockey Club
LeitrimEimearDoonanGAAFenagh GAA
LimerickJoeChawkeAthleticsDooneen AC
LongfordGrzegorzWiechecVolleyballLongford Smashers Volleyball Club
LouthOliviaWallGAARoche Emmets GFC
MayoDeirdreMaloney ReidGAAMoy Davitts GAA Club
MeathDeborahKelly-LongBasketballEast Coast Cavaliers
MonaghanChristinaWeldonGAA Latton O’Rahilly GAA Club
OffalyPaulBuckleyAthleticsFerbane AC.      
RoscommonFrankGrehanGAA St. Aidans GAA Club
SligoKayCurleyTennisSligo Tennis Club
TipperaryNiallO’SullivanAthleticsClonmel Athletic Club
TyroneMartinCassidySoccerOmagh Futsal Club
WaterfordMichael CoxSoccerPark Rangers AFC
WestmeathDéirdreOrmeGAACrookedwood GAA
WexfordDenisCadoganGAA and HandballHoreswood GAA & Handball Club
WicklowAislinnNugentLGFAValleymount LGFA